Shilts and Felver Win Feature Classes at U.P. Championship Snow Drags

March 1, 2016

New Richmond, Wisconsin’s Kelly Shilts and Owosso, Michigan’s Scott Felver won the Pro Outlaw and TOP GUN Features at the UP Championship Snow Drags.  This was the first race in the Ojibwa Casino Racing Series for the season.

Shilts hit speeds well over 100 MPH on the hard packed 500 foot lanes with his D & D Powersports Arctic Cat Turbo.  Taking a second was Howell, Michigan’s Nick Stilson on the Jaws Performance Arctic Cat, with the Pat’s Motorsports Yamaha piloted by Greenland, Michigan’s, Al Turin taking a 3rd.

While Stilts was expected to be the one to beat in Pro Outlaw, the driver that was expected to win the TOP GUN Feature was Laurium’s Jerry Biuschell.  Buschell is the defending TOP GUN Champion, and the MASTERS Racing Circuit’s number one Snow Drag Racer.  Buschell advanced to the feature, but took a 3rd.

Winning the TOP GUN Feature was the Lower Michigan Arctic Cat racer, Scott Felver.  Taking a second was Greenland’s Al Turin on the Yamaha Push Turbo.

“While it was the ‘UP Championships,’ it was Wisconsin, Lower Michigan, and Minnesota based drivers that made the trip to Ontonagon worthwhile!  The competition for this years races were some of the fastest snowmobiles on snow!” commented MASTERS Racing Circuit President, Skip Schulz.

MASTERS stands for Mid America Snow and Terrain Expert Racers, and is one of the longest running snowmobile sanctioning race circuits in the Midwest.  The MASTERS will sanction 12 events this winter, along with the upcoming January 30th, Ojibwa Casino Vintage/Antique Snowmobile Show at the Big Bucks Bingo Hall, located next to the Ojibwa Casino in Baraga.

While Upper Peninsula racers did win some of the classes, it was Stilson’s team from Lower Michigan that captured Pro Mod 600 class, Race Stock 600, and Trail Stock Open classes.  Stilson had Florence, Wisconsin’s Nate Wicklund run his sled to a victory in the Race Stock 600, while Alan Dibler took Trail Stock Open.  Stiilson won the Pro Mod 600.

The Minnesota-based Bikeman Performance team  had Anthiny Amundson in the winner’s circle with a win in Race Stock 800.

Upper Peninsula drivers that ‘held serve’ on home turf included Mohawk’s John Mihelich in Pro Mod 800.  It was in a Quarterfinal that Buschell ‘wheelied’ is sled.  When his sled hooked up to the point of standing it ‘straight up,’ he lost to much ground, thus advancing West-Central Wisconsin’s Drew Minkel and Mohawk’s John Mihelich.

Both Minkel and Miheloch would breeze through the Semi’s and advance to an exciting feature, where Mihelich edged out Minkel by inch’s.  Star Prairie, Wisconsin’s Justin Nelson took a 3rd.

“While TOP GUN and Outlaw will get a lot of attention, I think the Pro Mod 800 class is going to be one of the most competitive this year.  Remember, we had some of our top drivers in this class that were eliminated early in the day.  Such as CJ Nordang of Iron River (MI), the Copper Country’s Tom Hodges, and Buschell,” Schulz stated.

Buschell kept his 4 year unbeaten streak going by winning Pro Mod 700.  However Hodges is narrowing the gap at the finish line and took a second.  Stilson took a 3rd.

“Once again the fans really loved the kids racing the 120’s.  It was good to also have the Junior Drivers racing,” remarked Ontonagon County Economic Partnership President, Bill Fisher.

Harvey, Michigan’s Braden Rose won the 120 Mod class over Champion’s Nathan Lacosse, while Carter Lacosse beat Ryan Holstrom of Ontonagon  This was Holmstrom’s first race.

Florence, Wisconsin’s Nate Wicklund  and Greenland’s Wyatt McIntyre thrilled the crowd in the Junior Class.  Wicklund took a 1st with McIntyre taking a second.  The 13 year old Wicklund also won theTrail Stock 600 class and Race Stock 600.

After the Jan 30th Ojibwa Casino Vintage/Antique Show, the MASTERS Ojibwa Casino series will head to Caspian, Michigan for the Mid America Championship Hillclimb.  This is the first of 2 Snowmobile Hillclimbs that are qualifiers for this year’s World Championship Hillclimb in Jackson, Wyoming.  The following weekend, the MASTERS will hold the Wisconsin State Championship Hillcross and Hillclimb at Keye’s Peak in Florence, Wisconsin.  The Hillclimb at Keyes Peak will be the final qualifier for this years World Championship Hillclimb.

The series includes events in Greenland, Michigan; Superior/Duluth; and Marquette Mountain in Marquette, Michigan.

UP Championship Snow Drag Results:

Ojibwa Casino TOP GUN:  1)  Scott Felver, Owosso (MI), Arctic Cat;  2)  Al Turin, Greenland (MI), Yamaha;  3) Jerry Buschell, Laurium (MI), Ski-Doo

ClearMotion Turbo’s Pro Outlaw:  1) Kyle Shilts, New Richmond (WI) D & D Arctic Cat; 2) Nick Stilson, Howell (MI), Hypersports Arctic Cat; 3) Al Turin, Greenland (MI), Yamaha

UP Fuels and Lube Pro Mod 800:  1)  John Mihelich, Mohawk (MI), Ski-Doo;  2)  Drew Minkel, Rice Lake (WI), Ski-Doo;  3)  Justin Nelson, Star Prairie (WI), Arctic Cat.

Citizens State Bank Pro Mod 700:  1) Jerry Buschell, Laurium (MI), Ski-Doo;  2) Tom Hodges, Lake Linden (MI), Arctic Cat;  3)  Nick Stilson, Howell (MI), Arctic Cat.

Domitrovich Insurance Pro Mod 600:  1)  Nick Stilson, Howell (MI), Arctic Cat;  2) Matt Lacosse, Champion (MI), Wahl Brothers; 3)  Trevor Wood, Calumet (MI), Arctic Cat

North Country Snowmobile Club Race Stock 800:  1)  Anthony Amundson, Shakopee (MN), Arctic Cat;  2) Justin Nelson, Star Prairie (WI), Arctic Cat; 3) Nick Stilson, Howell (MI), Arctic Cat.

Pat’s Motorsports Race Stock 600;  1)  Nate Wicklund, Florence (WI) Arctic Cat;  2) Dave Wood, Calumet (MI), Arctic Cat;  3) Trevor Wood, Calumet (MI), Arctic Cat.

Peninsula Graphics Trail Stock Open:  1) Alan Dibler, Byon (MI), Arctic Cat;  2)  Gary Stanke, Clio (MI), Arctic Cat;  3)  Shad Sherman, Burton (MI), Arctic Cat.

Scott’s Superior Inn and Cabins Trail Stock 600:  1)  Nate Wicklund, Florence (WI), Arctic Cat;  2) Dave Wood, Calumet (MI), Arctic Cat;  3) Wyatt McIntyre, Greenland (MI), Polaris

Christian Motorcycle Association Junior:  1) Nate Wicklund, Florence (WI), Arctic Cat;  2) Wyatt McIntyre, Greenland (MI), Polaris

OCEP 120 Mod:  1)  Braden Rose, Harvey (MI) Polaris;  2)  Nathan LaCosse, Champion (MI), Polaris

Tom Picotte’s 120 Stock:  1)  Carter LaCosse, Champion (MI), Polaris;  2) Ryan Holmstron, Ontonagon (MI), Arctic Cat


{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: